Tips for Listening to Audiobooks

My mother is a huge advocate for audiobooks. She used to read all the time, but I asked her the other day, and she said it has probably been at least a year since since she’s picked up an actual book. Until recently, I never listened to audiobooks because I just assumed I wouldn’t get as much out of them as I do from a hardcopy, but I was wrong. The experience of listening to a book is completely different from reading, and not all books are meant to be listened to, but if you find the right book, and the right time to listen, audiobooks can be really amazing. Here are some tips and tricks for how to get the most out of an audiobook.

First, listen to the samples! Most websites that sell audiobooks (my favorite is audible) allow you to listen to a short sample of the piece before you purchase it. Always listen to this before you pay. Most books have many characters, and if the speaker is monotone, it may be harder for you to keep up with the story, especially if you are just getting into audiobooks.

Second, try listening in the car. This took a little bit of getting used to, but now I love listening to audiobooks while driving. I often find myself making longer trips, longer meaning two or more hours, and listening to a book makes the time go by so fast. I even listen when I’m only going to be in the car for a few minutes. It’s such a great time to get some of the chapters in your current read knocked out.

Third, read the reviews, but also be willing to make your own opinions. This goes for anything, but especially audiobooks. I have seen poor reviews given because a speaker gives each of the characters different voices, but I personally love this. I have given a speaker a poor review because it was difficult for me to understand their accent, but that may not be the case for you! Be willing to check things out and make your own judgements.

Fourth, one of the best things about audiobooks is that you can multitask while enjoying a book at the same time, so do just that. I personally like putting away laundry, cleaning my room, and even filling out my planner while I have the book playing. Being able to concentrate on both tasks can take some practice, but once you get it down, it becomes a very efficient use of time.

I hope these tips were helpful, and that you’ll give audiobooks a chance in the future. Thank you so much for reading!

Leave a Reply

